Visual vs audio learners

I’ve listened to the first units of both the level and the course and I’m very impressed by what you’ve produced. I’ll follow your instructions about not writing things down, since that’s the way the lessons are intended to be done. But I’m a very visual person; when I heard the Welsh words, I had to struggle to stop myself thinking “Now how’s that written?” at each new word. I like to use maps, diagrams and the written word when I’m studying anything, and that’s worked well with other subjects. I’m willing to try the “audio” approach of SSIW, but can anyone advise me how more visual learners like me can make the best of the audio style SSIW uses (at least for beginners)?

I work in much the same way, but worked through the lessons to the end of level 2 before trying to write anything down. I am sure that helped for a number of reasons. (a) I had learned the letter sounds in English not Welsh, so seeing them written down would have left me with a very strange pronunciation. (b) I found it easier to go through the course while doing something else like walking the dog or gardening rather than sitting down at a desk. © It was much easier to cope with written Welsh after I had acquired an ear for the language and how it is built up. I have finished the three levels and now try to keep a daily diary in Welsh as well as making notes of new vocabulary and phrases which I try to use when speaking in Wales or recording what I have done. It seems to be working for me and I enjoy the challenge. (d) The forum is also a great way to develop an understanding of the written language. Keep going and good luck.

2 Likes

I think that SSi courses redefines what a visual learner is since I’m pretty sure that SSi way has worked just fine for all of us thinking ourselves as visual learners.

4 Likes

Shwmae,