Periodic Table in Welsh

I’m far from a scientist- the nearest I get to a white lab coat is an apron in the kitchen- but this dynamic period table in Welsh is super mega awesome…

11 Likes

That’s awesome.

1 Like

They seem to include all the ones made/discovered since I retired!f

1 Like

I got a nice plastic wall-chart periodic table from Poundland. Comes in dead handy sometimes for watching University Challenge. (I think there is at least one spelling error, but what can you expect for a quid?). Would be nice if there was a Welsh version. I have a nice wall-chart map of Wales, which I bought in Wales (not in a pound shop).

1 Like

Yes, there have been some major changes since my undergraduate days. Semiconductors. the basis of transistors, integrated circuits and microchips (which enable us to communicate by this medium), were made principally of Group IV elements such as Silicon and Germanium with impurities from Group III and Group V of the periodic table. These groups seem to have been renamed to Groups 13, 14 & 15 (not even in Roman numerals!) - is nothing sacred? GRUMP, grump, gr…

I’m very glad to see this table in Welsh even though it’s mostly spelling the English names with Welsh letters. Some languages have more radically different names. eg Oxygen and Nitrogen are Sauerstoff and Stickstoff in German (for good chemical reasons) and Nitrogen in French is Azote.

Can you see, now, why I’m in such demand at parties? :laughing:

6 Likes

Was never much of a chemist, but I remember exotic sounding phrases/names (for groupings) such as “Lanthanides” and “Rare Earths”.

I was (slightly) more at home in physics, and in 6th form Physics (which was held in the Physics lab), there was a very wide wall chart of the electromagnetic spectrum on top of the wide greenboard which I used to enjoy looking at during lessons (when I should probably have been listening rather more carefully).

3 Likes