Hello from S4C

Hello, Criw SSiW! My name is Sara, and I started learning Welsh with SSiW back in 2013, and as I frequently tell people - it has changed my life :slight_smile:

One of the many wonderful things that learning Welsh has brought me is a new job, and I am now the Welsh Language Strategy Lead for S4C - a big part of my job over the coming months and years will be to improve what the channel provides for learners, and how we go about doing that.

I have been chatting to Aran and Catrin about how we can get better information to you all about what’s available to help support your learning, and you should see more to come on that soon. But I also wanted to let you know that if you have any specific questions you can tag me, and I’ll try to answer them (or try to find the person here with the right information to answer them!)

In the meantime, here are a few starting points for anyone new to S4C’s programmes:

• In the UK, you can watch all of S4C’s current programmes on iPlayer, where English subtitles are available.
  • But if you watch on S4C’s own player (Clic) you will also have the choice to watch with Welsh subtitles on most of the programmes. (Welsh subtitles on live programmes aren’t very easy to do at the moment - something we’re working really hard to solve.) You can find Clic online (www.s4c.cymru/clic) or as an app, and as an app on some smart TVs (we’re working on getting it onto as many devices as possible).
  • If you’re not in the UK, the choice of programmes available to you is unfortunately limited because of legal/rights issues. But the list of what you can watch is kept up to date on our website here: International | S4C