Wild course comparsion to SSIW 1 & 2 (old & new)

Hi, I hope this is ok to post, please delete if it’s not.

Please help me choose… I’m in my 3rd year of adult night classes but last summer I was disappointed with how far I hadn’t come so found SSIW. Since then I’ve completed level 1 & 2 on both the old and new course and now I’m finding my night class really frustratingly slow (not helped by the new course syllabus which seems to be mostly revising what we’ve already done over the last 2 years & when I’ve looked further in the book we’ve either covered it already or SSIW has). I now have the opportunity to do a residential course this summer when I will have finished year 1 of Sylfaen. I do find the night classes don’t do enough general speaking so my listening skills when it’s not the subject we’ve just done aren’t the greatest (& I’ve been so keen to move on the SSIW chapters that I’ve ignored the listening exercises!). Would you suggest I do a Sylfaen residential course as a thorough revision or push myself on to do the Canolradd?

If you are already thinking of the Sylfaen course to be a thorough revision then I would suggest you push yourself on to do the Canolradd - you probably don’t need as much revision as you think you do.

Also, do make time to go back and do the SSiW listening exercises. They will make a super-huge difference to your listening skills :smiley:

3 Likes

Like you I didn’t really bother with the listening exercises but I reached a time when I could speak, read and write ok but listening was my real weakness so I decided to concentrate on listening and started using them at every opportunity and guess what happened?

5 Likes

Definitely go for canolradd - will you be somewhere that several levels are taught? Often they are happy for you to swop part way. I know some people on here have gone straight to uwch.

2 Likes

ok eek done! I can’t swap as the sylfaen is a different week. It’s a week of looking blank at worse hey :slight_smile: