Welsh for families course

Hi, I went to my first lesson on Friday of this course. This is my first formal Welsh class and I’m already confused. The course book says it’s for south Wales uses eisiau for want then has a note at bottom of page saying in South Wales moyn is often used which I’m more familiar with, so where does eisiau come from? Also annoyingly I left the class and left behind the ability to pronounce eisiau which is making practicing difficult can anyone help?

Thanks

S’mae Theresa?

I’m studying Northern Welsh, but I can help you with the pronunciation of eisiau. In the North, this word is often written as isio. The letters si together are very often pronounced like the English “sh”, so we say both eisiau and isho as “ish-o”. The vowels are short, so “ish” is like the end of the word English and the “o” is like the first letter of the word orange.

Regarding the first part of your question, in the South, moyn is generally used for “to want” and eisiau for “to need”. In the North, isio is “to want” and angen is "to need*. Of course, there are regional variations and overlaps, but these distinctions are what I have picked up from the SSiW courses.

Hope that helps, and please keep us informed of how you are getting along with Welsh for Families.

Hwyl,

Stu

1 Like

Hello Theresa!

“Eisiau” is a word heard and used throughout Wales for to need or to want, with various subtleties of meaning throughout, and “moyn” is a dialect alternative for “to want”. “Eisiau” is also the “standard” word, as it were, so it’s good that you now know it!

In the South, which is presumably where you are? You will probably (possibly!) hear it pronounced, if you want it in English spelling, “ishe”. That is, “ISH - eh”.

1 Like

I seem to have heard eisiau pronounced all sorts of ways including “ish-o”, “ish-e”, “aye-shy”, “eesh-a”, “eesh-o”, ayy, so I really get the impression that it’s nearly impossible to pronounce it incorrectly.

3 Likes