Switchio Cymraegau -- Can I switch Welsh accent? Do I have to?

Hey hey, s’mae a sh’mae!

I’ve been learning Welsh since late 2015, am somewhere in the Canolradd levels, and started off learning Gogledd. I’m a blogger/podcaster so I report on my language progress quite regularly and recently I fell into a bit of a trap. Here’s a quote from the blog to tell you what my problem was…

Cymraeg Gogledd neu Cymraeg De?
One thing that slowed me down was my belief that I should switch from the Northern Welsh accent (which I’d studied for 2+ years) to the Southern Welsh accent. Why? Because I moved from North to South in England.

This turns out to be a silly idea. When people tell me “everyone will understand you no matter what accent”, they are right. When they say “only a few words are different”, they aren’t right. Even though it’s possible to understand both types of Welsh, learning to speak them both is harder than I thought. Just look at these two sentences:

1. North Welsh: Dw i eisiau gorffen cyn yfory.
  1. South Welsh: Dw i’n moyn cwpla cyn yfory.

As far as I know, these are supposed to mean the same thing, but all native Welsh speakers will understand both.

My tutor at the Welsh class I attended told me “no mixing your accents”, which has made the idea of switching what I’ve studied next to impossible. My italki tutor is a lot more chilled, saying it doesn’t really matter as long as I’m not taking formal tests.

Conclusion: Welsh accents are confusing. I think I’ll declare Project Southern Welsh something I don’t want to continue. I stopped making progress because I felt trapped in this whole accent confusion, when it’s not that relevant. For now, I’ll speak how I speak and let life go on.

My question: Am I on the right path thinking this is actually no big deal? I almost fell over when I switched SSiW (am on level 2, lesson 15) from gogledd to de, it was like “WTF is moyn”. Is it worth persisting, or should I trust that this will sort itself out?