Rygbi

So disappointing that Welsh supporters call out ‘Come On Wales!’ instead of ‘Dewch Ymlaen, Cymru!’, as I did And in the National Anthem why do they pronounce the word ‘pleidiol’ as ‘plydiol’ rather than ‘playdiol’?.
Nefyn

I would have been of the ones singing pl(eye)diol rather than pl(ay)diol. "ei"is closer to the English “eye” in these parts as is “ae”. I reserve the “ay” as in play (or something close sound for “eu”. I acknowledge that the pronunciation changes radically as you venture North.

Still Welsh isn’t unique with its accent variations - my wife and I can’t agree how to say the English words “bus” or “bath”.

I live in Us Trad May Rig (Ystrad Meurig) :smile:

I have been playing or watching rugby for 62 years and have never seen such a magnificent and exciting afternoon of international rugby. The performances and commitment of all three contendors (four if you include France) were superb. 211 points in 5 hours!

People of my age tend to talk about the good old days but. let’s face it - THESE are the good old days. Roll on the world cup

Oh and before I forget - llongyfarchiadau mawrion mawr, Iwerddon :star2:
(edited to remove alcohol-fuelled errors :blush: )

3 Likes

Absolutely outstanding effort by the Welsh boys in the second half today. Just a shame they conceded that try right at the end. The points pressure might just have been too much for Ireland otherwise. The rugby today was more like southern hemisphere rugby and long may it continue. Wales, England and Ireland (and to some extent France) all showed what is possible when you play with the ball in hand a little more.

1 Like

Well done to Ireland indeed. A well deserved win of the six nations.

And I am someone who has always pronounced “pleidiol” with the “e” as a bit of a “schwa”, as all the native Welsh speakers round here do.

As Hewrop says, such things change from area to area.