Newydd yn dod

Smae i pawb! I found saysoemthingin a few days ago. I’m a bit of a linguaphile and Welsh is one of the languages I’ve been studying in a desultory way on and off for over 20 years. I’m hoping the lessons from Iestyn and Cat will improve my listening skills to the point of being useful! Most of the Welsh I’ve learned (and partly forgotten) was from Heini Gryffydd’s “Welcome to Welsh”, mainly South Walian, so I’ve opted for the southern version.Already by lesson 4 I’m getting some surprises - Iestyn says now for a simple way to talk about the past - so I assume he’s going to introduce “wedi” - but no, it’s les i and les ti! Most of the Welsh I’ve learned (and partly forgotten) was from Heini Gryffydd’s “Welcome to Welsh”, mainly South Walian, so I’ve opted for the southern version. I’ve been reading a lot of the posts on the forum and I’ve a few comments/questions:

1. Slavonic and Celtic - Tatjana and Stella/Seren (kak ti zvezda!), have you come across any words that are more or less the same in Welsh as in Slovene or Russian but different in English? Bearing in mind that the Celts are thought to have originated in the same region as the early slavs.

2. When learning Russian vocabulary, I’ve discovered that knowing a bit about the Welsh mutations can help enormously in seeing how apparently unfamiliar words are derived from familiar roots by sound shifts corresponding to the Welsh mutations. For example, the Russian word “muravey”. Mutate m to f and mutate v to m, and we see the similarity to the French “fourmi”. That’s how I remember the Russian for ant.

3. When trying to converse in Welsh, should we be encouraged or discouraged to use the strategy, when the Welsh word won’t come, of slipping in the English word, with an ending if appropriate. Native Welsh speakers even do this. Like I once heard on Radio Cwmru, Newyddion “Mae wedi digwydd explosion in block o’ flatiau yn Llundain”.