Magazine article on the value of minority languages

I’ve written an article about the value of minority languages, which will be published in Aeon (aeon.co). It’s still in a draft stage and is inspired by my experience of learning Welsh. It’s a philosophy article (I work as an academic philosopher) but aimed at a general audience, although currently the language is still a bit stodgy.

If anyone is interested in taking a look, I’ve included a link below - I would really welcome feedback about whether I’ve missed/confused anything about the value of learning Welsh or other minority languages.

I hope my posting about this doesn’t break any forum rules - apologies if so, and of course please delete this post!

7 Likes

Might be worth replacing American Indian with Native American - as I understand it, the former is not commonly used and some readers may take offence. Otherwise, it’s a good article.

2 Likes

Thanks! I actually used the same term as on the Wampanoag project website so deferring to their preferences… but this is something that may come up when it gets edited.

1 Like

I couldn’t access this on my iPad. I’ll try later or yfory on my laptop!
Edit: got it on iPad eventually! Scots in various forms is still alive and well. I am forever needing translations! Scottish Gaelic is taught in schools where it is spoken, e.g. Hebrides. A friend who used to live in Dundee and retired here to mid-Argyll, tells me she had some lessons. One teacher was from the Outer Hebrides and one from elsewhere (mainland Scotland, I presume) They used very different words for things. Her example was Thank you. I guess it is all dialects which, with time and lack of connection, become closer to Languages, as for Italian, Venetian vs Sardinian or Sicilian! North and South Wales were heading that way before TV told us all how both talk! Have you, @rebecca looked at the effect of TV?