Level 2 Listening Echoes?

Hi,

This is my first post here. Firstly many thanks for the course, I’ve been using it for around the last 10 months. I’m just hitting the end of level 2, I’m pleased with the progress I’m making and what I am learning and there are many excellent things about the course.

However, one question, what is the deal with the listening exercises on level 2? It sounds like there are echoes of each voice - I feel like I’m hearing about 3 sets of each voice. Have the echoes been put in to further make us work when listening, or is it an accident of the speeding up process? Either way I’m finding it really difficult to hear what is being said.
To be clear, I was fine with the listening exercises on level 1 - obviously they were sped up and sounded like chipmonks to make the brain work faster, and whilst this makes it more difficult I’ve been getting used to it and can totally see the point. However the added echoes on level 2 seem to add an additional barrier that would typically not be there when listening to regular speech.
Is there any possibility at all of doing versions of the L2 listening exercises using the same method as L1? ie. sped up but with just one incarnation of each voice?

Kind Regards
Rob

1 Like

Hi Rob - and well done on your terrific progress! - that is certainly the model we’re aiming at, but it may be either that the faster stuff is trickier to master, or that there is a hiccup of some kind happening here - @lewie is the man who might be able to offer insight here (he’s travelling at the moment, so give him a couple of days :slight_smile: ).

I get a similar thing and it seems to vary. I wondered if it was to do with download speed. It is better on my iPhone to my iPad.

1 Like

Yes, Level 1 was fine, but Level 2 does seem distorted. I use a PC with separate speakers.
Sue

1 Like