Human beings to practice speaking Welsh with

Hello, my name is Brian. I’ve just completed level three, but as a loner with no current conversational experience. Had some courses decades ago. I would love to join a friendly conversation group, or find a conversation partner either online (perhaps preferable these days) or in person. I live on the North Shore of Greater Boston, MA. (The additional materials available via iPhone are great, but wow, does the speech move quickly.)
Thanks!

Shwmae, Brian

If you’re still signed up to the monthly subscription, then you can ask to join the SSIW Slack community, which has two or three zoom chats every weekday (for varying levels of fluency, from absolute beginner upwards.) I didn’t do this until I’d finished Level 3 either, and found the zoom chats invaluable, and challenging… I wished I started them right at the beginning…

BTW, there are several North American participants in the zoom chats.

If you contact @Deborah-SSi on this forum, I think she’ll be able to point you in the right direction.

One more thing: if you haven’t looked at the Old Course, it’s worth doing so, now that you’ve finished the New Course. It’s definitely worth doing after the New Course, because it acts as more detail revision for the material. I’ve found it really useful.

HTH.

2 Likes

Asking individuals or small groups to use Zoom or Microsoft teams with you is a good way forward. If you are interested I could share my details

@brian-frykenberg as well as the advice above, you could join the Welsh Speaking Practice Slack group where there is a channel called #the-americas. It hasn’t been very active lately, but if you were to ask for a partner in there you’d have more chance of finding someone in your time zone. Would you like me to send you an invitation to join?

Diolch yn fawr iawn, Dafydd,