Hoffi or licio?

Hi, I’m relatively new to this, I’m not certain in most cases whether to use the word ‘hoffi’ or ‘licio’ ?

Hi Jacqueline
“hoffi” and “licio” mean both the same " to like" .
Aran (Northern course) teaches “licio”, Iestyn (southern) “hoffi”.
but it’s just a matter of taste, what you want to use. The best thing is to listen what the people around you use.

Hi Jaqueline, and welcome!

As Brigitte says, use whichever you prefer. You’ll find an awful lot of learners object to using “licio”, but that an awful lot of natural speakers would only use “hoffi” in church. You may even be told that you “should” use hoffi, but don;t believe a word of it! Use whichever feels most comfortable, or whichever springs to mind first. As Brigitte says - listen to those around you: You’ll soon end up using what’s commonest amongst the people you speak with most.

Dw i’n hoffi “hoffi” ond dw i’n licio “licio” hefyd :slight_smile:

1 Like

Diolch yn fawr pawb :smiley:

I had same issue when I started, I constantly hear both lico and hoffi in the South, it’s what you feel comfortable with and whatever comes into your head first,
Phil

I live in flintshire and work with people from Denbighshire and I find they use hoffi much more … in the northern new course we are taught liciuni (I would like) spelt wrong id think! And was recently corrected by some ppl who said theyd always say hoffiuni for that … confusing iawn!!

Don’t worry about stuff like that, Katie - you’ll naturally end up using what you hear other people using most often (whether or not they ‘correct’ you!) - the only important thing is if they understand you when you say ‘liciwn i’, and I guarantee you they will…:smile:

I appreciate what you’re saying … but it is a bit frustrating when you’re doing the northern course and northern ppl say they dont use that word! And iv heard licwn i a lot on south walian tv progs. Another example is hogan … they all say genedd here !