Hiraeth. A beautiful word in the English language!

3 Likes

Ah, ignorance! Such a wonderful thing.

2 Likes

I used “hiraeth” in English before I started learning Welsh. Along with “cwtch”, “hwyl”, “pwdi” and many, many other words derived from Welsh. Dialectical maybe, but certainly used as part of English round here! And the English round here is as valid as anywhere else!
Puts in context those claims that hardly any words in English come from Welsh!
As far as I can tell, checking on Google, the first site I saw did say it was from the Welsh, so fair enough in my book!

1 Like

Oi vey…

Given where you live, there’s at least grounds for an argument that you were just using Welsh in with your English - that it wasn’t, after all, before you’d started learning Welsh, just that you’d started learning some Welsh pretty much from the cradle… :sunny:

I suspect it would be impossible to draw any kind of clear line for when a word has shifted languages for communities where more than one language exists .

1 Like

I’m surprised you didn’t know it was Welsh! (Well, not when you were three, but later on!). Don’t you live somewhere that was disputed territory until recently? So speaking ‘Wenglish’ is quite natural!!!
That initial claim to it as ‘a beautiful word in the English language’ made my blood boil… but then I am an unreconstructed republican nationalist who has to be very careful not to get herself ejected from the Forum!!

2 Likes

Oy vey indeed.

That’s pretty much the exact point I was making, using some of those different word things.

Such words can be considered as either words from another language, or as naturalized dialect words. It depends on the speaker to a large extent. Neither one nor the other is ‘incorrect’. That is the point I was making. Sorry for the two answers, but for some reason this site is playing up on my phone.