Hello from South Yorkshire!

Hello! Newbie here!

Firstly, many, many thanks to Aran, Catrin Iestyn and Cat, and to all the learners who have gone before, for such an amazing resource.

So why am I learning Welsh? I want to move to Wales, but to do the job I currently do (public sector), I will need to be able to speak Welsh. It was a new years resolution to do something about it, and amazingly one month on I already have much of the vocabulary I need to say that in Welsh.

Progress wise, I’m currently on 6.1. I still have a couple hang-ups with 5, mostly with the pronunciation of llefrith. Doubly annoying as I’m allergic to the stuff, so really do need to be able to say it!

Jane

A warm welcome to the forum, Jane, and well done on having got off to such a great start… :sunny:

With an attitude like that, I’m sure you’re going to do extremely well… :star: :star2:

Hi and Croeso!

I hope you enjoy being here!

:slight_smile:

1 Like

Croeso, Jane! Sounds like you are doing great! Dal ati, and never hesitate to ask a question on this lovely forum.

1 Like

Thanks for the warm welcome guys! Will definitely be back when I’ve got some questions, and to keep you updated on how I’m getting on.

2 Likes

Croeso, @Jane! I think it is a good thing that you are aiming to go to Cymru Gogledd (North Wales), as I think you’ll find that accent easier, presuming you have a Yorkshire accent now!?? :smile:
I lived in York from1952-1956 and Harrogate from 1969-1972!! I know Harrogate isn’t typical, but my friends were normal Yorkshire folk, save for my compatriot who came from Caerfyrddin. Lwc dda! You are learning the best way to converse. You may need lessons when you get to Cymru for written, Public Sector papers!!!