Cardiff- Meetups.com meeting Welsh Speakers in Capital

Hi everyone.
My names Mihil and I’ve been learning Welsh for two months now. Having moved here for my PhD, I have really begun to enjoy Wales, Welsh culture and the Welsh people. I really enjoy leaning and believe it is so important for the country and the people here that more people, especially younger people learn it.
I was wondering if there is somebody here who can organise a meetup in Cardiff, and when I say meet up I mean on Meetups.com. This is a website some of you may be familiar with, where groups of people in a city or local area can co-ordinate social events. For example, I found out about meetups for drawing sessions through this website. I was wondering if somebody (head honcho, top dog, big wig etc) of the forum could create one for Welsh speakers/leaners in Cardiff.

http://www.meetup.com/cities/gb/x5/cardiff/

There are meet ups for absolutely everything from board games, wine drinkers, hikers, runners etc…and I think it would be much easier to coordinate meetups for Welsh learners/speaker. This is something that would really appeal to myself and I’m sure many others in Cardiff.
Diolch yn fawr !
Mihil

1 Like

Hi Mihil,
Great that you’re diving into learning Welsh! I’ll just flag this up to @ali who is one of the organisers of our monthly Cardiff meetups in the Mochyn Du. Perhaps she might like to include it on the website you mention to attract more people along. Thanks for flagging that up.

Dee

1 Like

Here’s the issue with using meetup.com - $10 a month to be a meeting organiser…

2 Likes

Yikes - much easier to use the forum and social media!

2 Likes

Wow. I wonder when they changed that? I’d always thought that we’d want to try and figure out a way to use an API if they run one, but if they’ve gone for charging the organisers, I guess that’s not going to fly. Pity.

Does the $10 a month allow you to set up as many meetups as you want, or is the number limited?