Brain is melting

Hi everyone,

Complete beginner here, and mixing up words or brain freezing like crazy.

I’ve just started level one yesterday, and I’m finding it so hard to remember all the words, and I can’t even remember the long sentences in English, my brain is mush - is this normal, I feel so rubbish :sob: and I’ve only just started.

How many times do I listen and repeat even if I can’t master the whole session.

Cheers

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum and SSiW Lauren :slight_smile:

Yes, don’t worry - all that is completely normal!
The thing is, the way this course works is teaching in a way that is totally different to the way most people have ever been taught, so although the method is eventually very effective it does cause a bit of brain shock to begin with.

You don’t have to master an entire session before progressing. Do it two or three times and then move on. Spaced repetition is built in to the lessons, so it’s not as if you’ve only got one shot at getting something right. And if you make mistakes, don’t panic - it’s all part of the process.

As for mixing up words and brain freezing, that will happen. A lot. (still happens to me, and I’ve been a second language speaker for 20 years! :wink: ) . Just go with it - as I said, it’s absolutely normal!

5 Likes

Thanks so much, I’ll plod along and do my best. I’ll give it a couple of goes and move to the next part, hoping it will stick haha.

4 Likes

It’s completely normal! I started over a year ago and did most of the challenges three times. Some of them were harder than others but you come back to things further down the line and find that you can remember and they make sense. Keep at it - it’s worth the effort :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes