Boosting learning at home

Just a thought that nay help people.

Today i decided to watch somsome telly. S4C obviously.

I watched a catch up Dal Ati about welsh learner of the year. Then watch three lots of Cegin Bryn.

After the first i looked up a couple of words i wasnt sure of eg blawd, ychwenegu (excuse spelling if its incorrect). I then watched the next two programmes. All of a sudden a little more made sense.

I had kind of taken a little break from learning over the last couple of weeks what with the school holidays. (i know i’m a teacher but i lost a little motivation). I found this worked quite well for me. Learn a few new words on a programme that interests me and then hear them again but in different sentences.

Just a suggestion for people. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I never look up words unless I recognise them and have seen/heard them repeatedly. Means all the learning is spent efficiently on words that’ll actually come up!

1 Like

It’s exactly why I looked them up…a cookery programme where words were repeatedly used. As its one of my interests I decided to look the up and they were used n the next programme thus enhancing my understanding and hence enjoyment of the programme.

Similarly if football or rugby are your thing I would suggest the same approach. It means you can talk to people who share your interest.

I had done this previously a few weeks ago and over lunch on Saturday with other Welsh learners I could talk with the tutor about the fact that whilst my lunch was tasty, I couldn’t find the chicken and suggested it should be called a vegetable curry. I wouldn’t have been able to do this unless I had looked the words up.

(and totally irrelevant…here’s some of my cooking)

6 Likes