What brings you to Welsh?

I’ve been reading around the topics, and getting to know a few of you from afar, but it’s quite hard for a newcomer to jump on the end of an ongoing thread…

And I’m quite interested to know, what brings you to want to learn Welsh?

I’m not Welsh (well very distantly - great great grandparents), but I live nearish to Bristol, so not too far away. I holiday in Wales each year at least once (off to Strumble Head this Aug can’t wait!) and visit when I can - love the mountains, Brecon, Abergavenny etc. My hubby has Welsh cousins in Pontypridd…

But i never considered learning it until recently when I was reading some Welsh history and got fed up not knowing how to pronounce the names/places…

Amazingly, it all started from there, I stumbled upon SSIW very quickly, and here I am!

2 Likes

Hi Samantha

I’m a newbie too. I’m from the S Wales valleys and did Welsh (2nd language) for GCSE but forgot quite a lot of it through not using it. I still remembered some words which I’d pick up on in day to day life. I think I decided to pick Welsh up again because I think it’s the key to a whole lot more culture and friends in Wales. Plus having the accent already is a bonus :wink: I’m loving Say Something in Welsh and I’m really pleased with how quickly I’m progressing.

Are you getting to practice your Welsh? I’ve been looking around and there are some learner practice lunchtime sessions in Cardiff.

Hwyl

Kim

2 Likes

@samantha Don’t know if you’ve already seen this thread. You may enjoy reading through it. My story is in there somewhere, if you make it that far!

Why did you decide to try SSiW

And NEVER feel like you shouldn’t just jump into any thread! Post away - we are all friends here :slight_smile:

2 Likes