Welsh tutor available in Southern Hemisphere

Su’mae bawb!

I’m a Welsh tutor and I’ve just moved to Sydney, Australia with my partner who is from here.

I’m passionate about the Welsh language. It might be of interest to know that I have never lived in Wales! I was born and brought up in London by my Welsh mum and Iranian dad. Welsh is my first language and what we speak at home. I taught Welsh in London for 7 years. I also have Welsh speaking relatives in Patagonia. So, as you can see, speaking Welsh outside of Wales is a bit of a special interest of mine!

I am looking for new, enthusiastic Welsh learners! I’m available for learners of all ages and experience in Sydney and by Skype to all those in the Southern Hemisphere! Hit me up if you reckon I can help you develop your Welsh in any way.

You can see my (brand new) fb page here facebook.com/cymraegsydney/

Diolch o galon, Alys

Ps. My partner (like many of my former students) is using the SSiW method and is loving it! I am a huge fan.

7 Likes

Croeso, Alys!

I’m not Aussie nor ever been, but from what I’ve read there are a fair amount of Welsh speakers there. I don’t have much information but there is the St. David’s Welsh Society. You may find some speakers/learners there.

St. David’s Welsh Society of Brisbane
Rene Jones-Kelk
P. O. Box 4051
Eight Mile Plains, Queensland
Q4113 Australia

2 Likes

Diolch yn fawr!

1 Like

Tagging @louis :smile:

2 Likes

Helo Alys,
Great idea!
I used to live in Sydney, but I moved to the country about 5 hrs drive to the north, Uralla, too far to attend regular sessions, I’m afraid.
There are at least two regular language classes in the Sydney area that I know of, I could get you in contact with them if you wish. Another approach might be to connect via the Welsh in Australia Facebook groups - The Welsh Downunder and Cymry Awstralia, there may be more.