Wales for Welsh beginners

Probably a strange question, and apologies if it’s in the wrong place, but since it has to do with Wales/Welsh…:

I have been studying Welsh for a few months, my wife has started this monday :sweat_smile: but in September we would like to visit Wales for the first time as Welsh speakers (to be). Are there any places you can think of that are ‘beginner’-friendily?

(So far, the plan includes two weeks with three ‘base camps’ for a few days: Bangor, Aberystwyth and Caerdydd - the first and the last chosen as we want to travel sustainably and they have a direct train from/to London. Any tips in or near those would be especially welcome) :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I was in Aberystwyth last weekend, so I can make a few recommendations but this won’t be an exhaustive list. Hopefully a local will be able to provide more details:

National Library

Everyone here seems to speak Welsh. There’s a really nice art gallery (with a lot from/about Wales), plus temporary exhibitions and the library itself. Don’t miss the Trysorau/Treasures permanent exhibition. It’s only small but theres a load of really cool important Welsh cultural things in it. There’s also a nice cafe and gift shop.

Aberystwyth Arts Centre
https://aberystwythartscentre.co.uk/event-listing/
This is on the university campus and is at the top of a steep hill. It’s possible to get a bus or taxi up if you don’t fancy the walk. Mostly temporary exhibitions and events, but a lot of (but not all) Welsh speaking staff. Also a nice cafe and gift shop.

Tourist Information Office / Town Museum

This is in the centre of town and everyone here speaks Welsh. On the ground floor is the tourist info office and gift shop, but if you go up the stairs theres a decent museum of local life, and a cafe. It might also be worth contacting these people before you arrive to ask if there are any Welsh language events in the area during your stay.

2 Likes

Still in Aberystwyth;

Driftwood Designs