Using SSiW in a group

I’m starting a U3A Welsh Learners group and am hoping to use SSiW as a basis for our learning. Has anyone any tips as to how we should structure our meetings?

Just seen this. I’ve been asking for one in our area but to no avail. So it is an understatement to say that I’m interested. Where are you?

Hi Raymond,
I’m in Swindon, Wiltshire.
Thanks for link.

Alison

Whoops! The link was automatic! I’m very new to this!

I’ve tried SSIW in a group two different ways. One with me hovering on the pause button for a sort of greek chorus from the learners and the other with turn taking round the room and everyone else chipping in with agreement or correction.

Both are slower and prossibly less effective than doing it alone but as a taster or social in addition to solo practice I think it works.

I also made up “magnetic poetry” style cards (in English) for pick-a-mix sentences in English, and prompts for ways to apply the structures to actual stuff they could talk about straight away, and printed some flashcards pictures of relevant vocab and set challenges of ‘say anything you can about this picture with the vocab you’re got so far.’

The lesson resources I used are online but based on the old Course 1 not the new Level 1 but y can get the idea.

Here and select “Login as Guest”
http://www.swanseaitec.co.uk/moodle/course/view.php?id=110
A bit more stuff here
http://www.swanseaitec.co.uk/moodle/course/view.php?id=120

1 Like

Thanks, leiafee, for your helpful reply. I was planning to use your Greek chorus plus going round the room approach, but was concerned it might not work. Your ideas for activities are good too and thanks for the links to the Swansea site. I love “pass the pethau”!
Diolch yn fawr!

In the Leeds group we have evolved a structure to each meeting mainly because we hjave only two fluent speakers and a bunch of learners all at different stages. If you look at the Leeds meet-up thread you will see it.