Tips for pronouncing ‘Archfarchnad’

Bore da, pawb! I’ve had difficulty with using the ‘ch’ sound in words since I started learning Cymraeg several years ago. Now I can manage quite well, until a few months ago when I restarted intensive practice and encountered the word ‘archfarchnad’ (saesneg = ‘supermarket’)

I feel like it’s the two r’s preceding and the n that follows which are giving me trouble, as I’m even struggling pronouncing ‘arch’ and ‘farch’ by themselves - and then by the time I reach ‘nad,’ it’s all fallen apart.

For those of you who can successfully say archfarchnad, how do you manage?

Diolch yh fawr iawn in advance!

2 Likes

You’ve reminded me of this video of primary school age Ukrainian refugees learning Welsh… At about 00:40 the girl says that archfarchnad is her favourite word in Welsh. It might not be helpful, but it is said such delightful relish:

4 Likes

How adorable! I can at least think of this when I get frustrated and be amused
:heart:

It is a delightful word, I look forward to managing it

2 Likes

If there’s something I can’t pronounce, I just take it one syllable at a time and repeat it about twenty or forty times and then put all the syllables together. That’s how I got okay with saying Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch

As Joshua said, breaking it down into syllables will help, but here’s my addition to the tip -

Start by repeating arch over and over, really slowly at first, then speed up until you feel it’s coming out well.
Then do the same with farch.
(No need to do this with nad, that isn’t a tricky bit!)
Don’t worry too much about getting a roll on the r - if you can, great, but if you can’t, or not rolling it helps you get to the ch, then that’s fine too (not everyone rolls every r!).
Then do the repetitions again putting arch and farch together - archfarch.
Then do the same putting farch and nad together - farchnad