The technically-challenged

I’m going to indulge in a minor snivel but I’ll preface it by saying that I think SSiW is the most brilliant, fabulous and exciting language teaching method I’ve ever come across. However… as a more mature student I have utterly failed to master SoundCloud, or indeed the microphone on my even more mature computer. I suspect I’m not the only one with this kind of problem, and attaining nice coloured badges doesn’t really matter so very much, sob, sniff, but I do feel a bit defeated and out of the loop. I’m just saying.

4 Likes

I think you make a fair point which may well apply to others (technically challenged or not). Have you any suggestions about how else you can earn these coveted badges? (There may be sound (see what I did there? ) reasons why alternative methods are not practicable.)

1 Like

You mean like money (or strong drink) changing hands?

1 Like

To be honest, mastering the Soundcloud recording is probably the hardest part of the entire course for some of us. :smiley: Fortunately, it’s like one of those topics that you have to do in school or college, but are relieved when you move on and feel justified to forget it.

I did have a go at putting together a step by step guide, right the way through the process. It’s still on the forum somewhere, but I don’t claim that it is a masterpiece of journalism.

Perhaps one of the tech bods could improve on it sometime, allowing for different types of computers/phones/tablets etc.

I’m sure that you’ll get there somehow.

3 Likes

I’ve been playing around with a SoundCloud alternative, which I’m hoping might behave a little better in general - although I suspect that until we can afford to make this sort of stuff a native part of a fully-featured SSi app, the process of getting used to recording and publishing is always going to be a steep learning curve for a lot of our learners.

It’s such a valuable step, though, that I don’t want just to switch it off.

3 Likes