The intricacies of counting in Welsh

I have always know a bit about the old-style Welsh numbers because my mum (who is a first-language Welsh speaker) went to school well before the new-style decimal numbers were introduced. (In fact, as she doesn’t live in Wales, she hadn’t even heard of the new numbers till I started learning Welsh).

I know a bit about the connections with shepherd counting systems from all over Britain, and I love the sheer eccentricity of the old numbers - the way they go pumptheg, unarbymptheg, dauarbymptheg, deunaw, pedwararbymtheg (15, one and fifteen, two and fifteen, twice nine, four and fifteen!) And I know that the old numbers cling on in dates and ages.

But I learnt something new and fascinating yesterday (thank you @gruntius !) He told me that £4.99 becomes “pump punt nimad ceinog” (five pounds less a penny) and £4.95 becomes “Pump pund nimad swllt” (five pounds less a shilling - which is delightful when you think that 5p hasn’t been a shilling since 1971!)

Are there any other examples of how the old numbers are clinging on in natural language - or the history of the old numbers in general? (One for you, perhaps @garethrking ?)

And since there are lots of polyglots on this Forum, what other examples are there of languages ignoring decimalisation in their counting systems?

6 Likes

“Namyn” :wink:

1 Like

Well for Welsh - as I think I may have mentioned here and elsewhere before - it is surely true that the original numbers are clearly alive and well (and preferred by native speakers) for time of the clock - 12 (o’clock) is deuddeg (o’r gloch), not ‘undeg dau’. Be here by 12 is certainly Byddwch fan hyn erbyn deuddeg, and ‘…erbyn undeg dau’ would sound (I respectfully suggest) a bit odd. Similarly unarddeg eleven - …erbyn unarddeg, not the odd ‘…erbyn undeg un’.