Studying Welsh as a native-level language

I’ll start off by saying I’m aware this is a crazy idea and that there is no way it will ever happen.

But, in our school we have been thinking about which six subjects we are going to choose for the IB program next year. I’m pretty sure about most of my choices, but I really don’t want to study Finnish literature (there is no way I’m doing it) and I don’t think I would have the motivation to teach myself Italian literature (so self-taught) . Since we have to study two languages, one being English, my only choices left for the second one are either Welsh as a self-taught language or Italian as a self-taught language.

The problem is that self-taught languages have to be studied at native-level, so I would be studying literature. I would have to be able to write good essays about books in Welsh. I would have to be able to analyse Welsh literature in Welsh.

But then again… Italian literature would be difficult for me as well. I’m a pretty slow reader in Italian and I would not enjoy it as much as Welsh. I’m not very good at writing in Italian. I would have way less motivation if I chose it. I’m not excited about Italian.

There are also many people in our mothertongue Finnish class who are not native speakers.

(there is absolutely no way I’m choosing Finnish literature)

All I need, really, is to read more books in Welsh to expand my vocabulary, practice writing, watch more TV and speak more. I learned English pretty quickly this way and I’m doing better in English Literature than some native speakers in our class at the moment. I don’t think having learned English as a second language is affecting my performance.

And even if next autumn I realise that my Welsh is not good enough to choose it, I will have learned so much that trying will still have been a good thing.