SSI Digital Accessibility

Shwmae SSI team,

I’ve just submitted the below via the Automagic feedback option, but wanted to post it here too for the purpose of raising awareness. Here’s what I wrote:

A stop-start Welsh learner here. I’m mostly using the MP3s, but I pop onto the website every so often to see what’s new. You may remember a couple of years ago I gave you some feedback regarding the inaccessibility of the website. This is the main reason why I don’t use it often. As a blind screen reader user, the site is incredibly challenging to navigate, including the forums, which is why I don’t engage with the community and content as much as I would like to.
Unfortunately, Automagic is also inaccessible. I thought I’d give it a try, and I can’t use it at all. As a digital accessibility consultant, I know the hacks to work with inaccessible components of webpages, but even they didn’t work. I’m going to get techy for a bit. here’s some of what I’ve found:

• the tabs, such as learning, settings etc, look like plain text to a screen reader user. In the code, I see they’ve been written as divs, styled to look like tabs, but semantically they don’t behave as such in the browser. The current process for making tabs accessible is to use a combination of ARIA and JavaScript. Please see Tabs Pattern | APG | WAI | W3C for more information).
  • My screen reader has detected a number of graphics on the page which have no alt text (an image description so blind people know what it contains)
  • the instructions tell me to start by pressing the play button, which I cannot find at all . It seems that no semantic html button has been used.
  • none of the options, with the exception of “feedback”, can be accessed in the tab order, so they can’t be accessed by screen reader or keyboard users. They can only be accessed with a mouse.