Spanish speaker wants to exchange Spanish for Welsh

Shwmae/Hola,

Firstly I hope this is the right place for this, so apologies in advance if not. I’m a Welsh guy living in Spain and want to start learning Welsh (from scratch, basically) and was looking for a fluent Welsh speaker who wanted to exchange their Welsh for my Spanish. I speak advanced level C1/C2 Spanish and a little bit of Catalan. My initial idea was to chat online for a bit, mixing English, Spanish and Welsh, whilst exchanging language tips and vocab. I’m an English language teacher so used to teaching people of all levels.

Gracias de antemano,

Kyle

1 Like

Hi, I know someone who would fit that bill beautifully. You can email me at sjfnelson@outlook.com if you like and maybe I can put you in touch. All best, Fran

1 Like

Have you got fixed up yet?

Sorry to be late in replying. Kyle’s post sounds interesting -it might work. I am Welsh, live in Wales and am moderately fluent having learned it through official courses and Skype courses over 10 years. I have been learning Spanish for 5 years and am not fluent at all. So could certainly exchange fluency in Welsh for some beginner type chats in Spanish. Is it over Skype or through chats by text?

Helo! I am a bit conversational in Spanish after years of studying and then not and then studying it again. However, Dw i newydd dechrau dysgu siarad Cymraeg (am biti mis!) Tengo miedo porque, si uso mi Español, pienso que se me olvido mi newydd Cymraeg. Those of you learning two other languages, is it important to put one on the back burner while focusing on the new one?

I used to think that, but research has shown that people who speak more than one language have them active all the time anyway. Rather than trying to suppress one, I find it more useful to make comparisons between them - if I can say this in one language, how would I say it in the other? That way you’re strengthening them both.