South Wales Welsh sounds

I’ve recently moved to Cardiff from North Wales. I started learning NW Welsh there and now I’m going to try to learn SW Welsh as I’m working for a local charity and feel it would benefit me to at least try. I’m already noticing differences and wondered if anyone could help. I’ve been blind since birth so my hearing is extremely good. I’ll say now that I don’t read Welsh, so please please excuse my dodgy spelling, I’m not being disrespectful of the Welsh language, just spelling things phonetically. I’m hearing “Cumraag” with a hard A sound, and I’m sure up North it was “Cumrige” with a definite I sound like you’ve have in the word “ride”? have I been mishearing the NW version all the time - or is SW different? Also, are there any courses/meet ups in the Canton area of Cardiff where you can practise? Thanks heaps in advance and sorry for the long message :slight_smile:

S’mae Nicki?

There is nothing wrong with your hearing, you have correctly identified a difference in the way the word Cymraeg is pronounced between the North and South. Have you listened to any of the Southern lessons on the site? They are a great way to compare the differences in sounds between the two broad dialects. Of course there are lots of regional variations too, so its not quite as straightforward as a simple North-South divide!

Best of luck with your studies!

Hwyl

Stu

Hi Stu :slight_smile: thank goodness it’s not my hearing. I started the first lesson today, the other thing that immediately me was the word “hofi” for like. Up north we’d say “Likio” even the “O” sound is different to my hearing. I’d like to learn in a group ideally, as it’s quite difficult learning by yourself, because you have no idea if you’re saying it wrong. I work with visually impaired people and they’d notice any differences. :slight_smile:

Nicki,