Site Accessibility For Screenreader Users

Greetings everyone,
A quick intro: I’m based in Melbourne, Australia. I’m a long time subscriber to the SSIW newsletter, but fell off the wagon years ago in my attempts to actually learn Welsh. Now I’m working as a freelancer and have more time on my hands, so I’m back for another shot! I’ve completed the five days of one-sentence challenges successfully! Woohoo!
Now to my topic: I’m totally blind, and use a screenreader to access the web. For the uninitiated, this is basically a piece of software that reads whatever happens to be on the screen. I’m hoping that I might be able to get in touch with whoever manages the SSI site. I’m managing to navigate my way around mostly, but I’m coming across a few accessibility issues and it would be great if we could try to find ways around them. I’m not a coder, but I’ve worked in accessibility/usability testing, so I’d be happy to offer more detailed feedback.
On a slightly different note, if there are other blind/vision impaired Welsh learners on this platform, it would be great to connect with you as well.
Cheers,
Lauren

4 Likes

Hi, @lauren-hayes! And welcome to the forum! I’m afraid I can’t answer your questions, except to say that there are definitely other visually impaired Welsh learners using this forum, and I’ve sent a message to one of them who, like you, has some good computer technical skills. I’m also copying in @CatrinLliarJones, just in case your message has got overlooked in the shower of St David’S Day messages.

Meanwhile, I love talking to people online in Welsh, so any time you fancy a little chat, get in touch!

Diolch Bronwen. Will have to draw the tech team’s attention to this as it’s beyond my lever of expertise. But I surely hope that we will be able to help somehow. Diolch. :slight_smile:

@Kinetic @lewie

Hello @lauren-hayes and welcome to the forum first.