Should I do the 6 months course?

Hi,

I was wondering if you could offer me some advice. I am thinking about doing the intense six month paid course offered by SSiW. I did the mynediad course about four years ago (I joined half way through as I already knew some Welsh) and I have done some sylfaen recently (I did about half the course on and off but missed lots of classes due to personal and work reasons) and I have done about five of the free SSiW audio files. I feel I am missing a lot of vocabulary and don’t have a lot of confidence speaking. Do you think the six months’ course would be a good idea? I don’t know all the patterns that were taught during sylfaen as I missed a lot and definitely not the vocab and have forgotten a lot of the stuff taught during mynediad. I am quite good at grammar (I studied languages) but I lack confidence.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Moochi
Speaking as a fellow learner:
It all depends on how much time you have. If you are really stuck for time, then the six minutes (average per day) might be an alternative. But I’m guessing: Yes, I think so; go for the Six Months Course. It will fit around your work and other commitments, so that is good.

You will end up going over those first few free Challenges again, but you could treat that as a springboard revision lead-in.

The stuff that you have already learnt in Welsh for Adults will also help you, but dont stress over it, as SSiW doesn’t require any prior knowledge or studies. I came from a similar background (although the older version of Welsh for Adults) and it certainly didn’t hinder me in any way.

The difference that you will have noticed with SSiW is though, that you don’t need to retain all that vocabulary from each lesson before moving on to the next, because the patterns will be repeated as revision a number of times as you progress.

So, for what my opinion is worth: I’d say, Yes, go for it.

4 Likes

PS
Are you on FB?
If so, this might help.