"sh" sound vs "s" sound in pronunciation

I’m studying the North version in Course 1. Is there a particular reason why words like “nes, weles, ges”, etc… are pronounced with an “sh” sound by one presenter and an "s " sound by the 2nd presenter? Is it presented this way to show that we might hear it either way? I don’t know which way to pronounce these words. Thanks!

3 Likes

It’s fairly common to use a “sh” sound where a “s” sound is followed by a vowel; particularly in the south.

1 Like

I hear both commonly (partly because I live in Cardiff where there’s a mix of accents from all over the country). I tend to say ‘s’ myself, because that’s what comes easiest to me. It doesn’t matter which you go with, as you’ll be understood with either. Use whichever feels easiest to you, or listen out for people around you (if you live in a Welsh-speaking community) to find out which is most common where you are, if you are most concerned to fit into that pattern.

3 Likes

Thank you for your input. I was worried about being misunderstood.

3 Likes

I constantly worry about that! :wink:

2 Likes

Yes, this. The plain ‘s’ sound is probably a touch more formal - but go with whichever you prefer… :slight_smile:

4 Likes

You mean chapel like? :wink:

3 Likes

“s” followed by “i” is often pronounced “sh” as in “siarad” or “siop” – and this seems to apply to some people even if the “i” is the next word as in “wnes i/nes i, dwedais i/ddudes i”.

I’ve noticed that Aran and Catrin have different pronunciations here and have wondered which pronunciation to use.

But going by what Aran said somewhere that Catrin sometimes speaks more formally when she’s in front of a microphone than she might usually, and that the biggest influence to his accent is how Catrin (usually) speaks, I imagine that both are fine here!