Resources for learning Portuguese?

Hello all!

I have been using SSiW for a few years now and have discovered that it has completely spoiled me for more traditional styles of language learning… I recently went on holiday to Portugal and tried before I went to learn using some mp3 resources I found online, but was constantly frustrated by the passive nature of the course. Of course, I hope that one day there will be a SSi course in all the languages of the world, including Portuguese, but in the meantime, I wondered whether anyone has come across any good resources for learning Portuguese in an active, SSi style way? I absolutely adored Portugal and am already planning my next trip :smile:
Thanks for any advice you may have!

2 Likes

Portuguese is quite high on our list, because it turns out that we need to go back to the Algarve after our visit this year (the first for almost 40 years)… :slight_smile:

In the meantime, I’ll be as interested as you if anyone knows of any good resources… :slight_smile:

Olá everyone!

[I’ve had to split this into a number of posts as I can only include two links per post]

I have been looking into the resources available for learning Portuguese and thought I’d summarise what I’ve found so far:

Brazilian or European Portuguese?
There is far more available for learning Brazilian Portuguese than European Portuguese. I am in two minds about whether to start by learning Brazilian Portuguese. As far as I can tell, the major differences are in pronunciation, some grammar, and some words. I’m wondering whether the differences are comparable to the differences between North and South Welsh in that it would be obvious to a native speaker which you are speaking, but they would still be able to understand you.