Question about Level 3 method

For the Level 3 lessons, I have got lots of sentences wrong because there are new patterns introduced that I have no previous knowledge of.

My question is, is this how it’s meant to be, or am I missing something?

One example would be in Lesson 5 near the beginning: ‘He’s been slower than we thought’. I had no idea what ‘than’ was in Welsh so I just said the first part of the sentence.

Another example would be distinguishing between ar gyfer and am. I’ve looked on the forum for an answer to that one now and hopefully it will sink in eventually, but I wondered if I missed the explanation somewhere.

I’m finding I’m getting a lot wrong (or not saying anything at all) first time because I’m trying not to translate literally from English as we’re always discouraged (in Dysgu Cymraeg courses also) from doing.

Should I be getting them right first time or is this the way the new patterns are taught?

I’ve recently said in anther thread: I think level 3 should really be level 4 and there is a missing level inbetween that fills in some fundamentals that are missed and lays the groundwork for the impressive structures practised in the level.

Yeah I know how you feel- if that’s the way it’s meant to be and we aren’t supposed to get things right first time that’s fine, but I’m not sure if that’s the case.

Glad to know I’m not the only one though.

I think I’ve missed the reasoning behind why so fe was the only accepted form in earlier lessons, whereas now only dyw e ddim is correct. I thought they were interchangeable!

Definitely not “right first time”, but the idea is to prepare you for being able to pick up a lot more Welsh from being in conversations, listening to the radio etc, where there will often be words that you haven’t come across before so you need to intuit the meaning. Sometimes you’ll be right, sometimes you wont, but with experience you’ll get better at it.