North Wales

Hello I’m pretty new to SSiW though I’ve been having formal lessons for a few years now too. I needed something extra to give me confidence to speak, hence me joining! Just a quick question, I’m going to Snowdonia at the weekend but I’m learning south welsh. Is it worth me trying to practice or will it just set me back as no one will understand me? (Though I’m used to this!) Thanks

2 Likes

Shwmae Julia, a chroeso i’r fforwm!

I would suggest carrying on practicing in Southern for now. The differences in dialect are very subtle, and North Walians will still understand you whichever dialect you use. It’s just one or two words you might come across which you may not recognise straight away, but generally you’ll be just fine!
So go try it out, and enjoy your trip to Snowdonia! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Sumae Julia!
If you’re in Snowdonia this weekend I thought I should warn you about the Snowdonia Marathon this Saturday. If that’s why you’re coming then you’ll know all about it, but if you didn’t know it was on then bear in mind that Llanberis itself will be VERY busy and parking will be a nightmare also there will be delays to traffic on the roads as the runners make their way around.

2 Likes

PS - if you are in Llanberis on Saturday come and say helo! I’ll be lurking about ‘on duty’ in a huge orange hi-vis coat! :wink:

1 Like

SSiW lessons are a good place to find that!

No. :blush:
You are going to Snowdonia at the weekend, and you are learning Welsh.:blush:

Whether you are learning the “Southern Version” taught in courses or in SSiW, you are learning the same language. There isn’t a need to split it up, and any impression given that they are not mutually comprehensible is incorrect.

There will be words and expressions you use which will be unfamiliar to some people, and many they would not use - but that would be the same wherever you are!