New user: Assumptions as to current best practice

Hi,

I started doing the Level 1 (“New”) Northern Course about 3 weeks ago and have really been enjoying it. My background is Modern Languages (40 years ago, mind) and I’m a confirmed grammar nerd, but I’ve been enjoying the purely conversational approach and have so far resisted the temptation to glance at the vocab until after I’ve done the challenge. I’m up to Challenge 15 and it’s been fun. Thanks to all concerned!

The reason for posting is that for a new user, it’s really quite difficult to get a handle on what the canonical approach is supposed to be for some aspects of the course and learning process. E.g. There appears to be no place on the website which lays down definitively what is in each course, or how fast one should approach the challenges. (The links in the FAQ, e.g. #3 Learn Welsh the SSIW way are dead, for example).

I’ve done a lot of (enjoyable) reading on this forum and I’ve pieced together what I think is the current advice. The question on how fast to repeat has been asked several times, but it gets slightly different answers over the years in the forum and on the blogs and some of them date back to 2015 and beyond. The upshot is that I’m not totally sure that I’ve understood the latest definitive position.

It would be really helpful if I could post my assumptions so that they can be confirmed (or roundly mocked…) and I can carry on with the learning knowing I’m doing it most effectively.

So, as far as I understand it:

1. (Of lesser importance as I’ll probably stick with the Challenges now) The Challenges are the same as the Structured course (and they’re both included in the £10pcm) but the Structured course has weekly class video sessions in addition. The Structure course can come in small daily, or a larger weekly chunk, while the Challenges are done to the student’s own rhythm.