New here - Marcus Dw i

I had a C grade O’level welsh. Which to be fair wasn’t much more than days of the week, months of the year, the weather, numbers, the time, hoffi, eisiau, clothes, shops, mwynhau, and Ga i.

So two months ago I started learning Spanish on Duo Lingo and loved the app. I thought I would have a little look at the welsh version. Anyway, there’s a test to see how much you know and I took the test and it opened up at level 20.

I decided I would do both welsh and spanish and see how I got on. Welsh was easier as most of the above I still remembered. I have done 20 minutes a day on both languages for 60 days now. I have wrestled a lot whether I should be concentrating on just one and it feels like the time I am putting into welsh might have more benefit if I put that into spanish. However, I like welsh. I like the idea of speaking welsh and I am envious of those that do. I am progressing faster with welsh and I am more inclined to learn welsh in my spare time over and above the 20 minutes. It does seem hard though particularly with the mutations and having to learn both the formal and informal version of everything. It’s my plan to take far more notice of the informal as I can’t really see myself in many formal situations. I’m from the English speaking part of North Wales. live near London so I’m not going to get many situations to practice in although i have just discovered the London welsh centre online, so I am going to see if that is helpful.

Meanwhile if you are learning welsh and here are some of the things I have been using.