Medri is not able rather than able which is says in lesson 1..?

I just started learning and my wife and other Welsh speakers have told me that “medri” means unable whereas lesson 1 teaches that it means able. It also says course 1 (old) - am I meant to start at level 1 lesson 1? Is that the updated version or is that more advanced?

Croeso, welcome, rachael, @aran is in the throes of moving house, so not likely to be on here just at the moment. I do not really claim any expertise, but ‘medru’ (pronounced ‘medri’) means ‘able’ or ‘can’ (Dwi medru = I can). I am not sure how you differentiate between that and ‘medri’, which at least Google says means ‘canst’! “Dwi ddim yn medru” means I cannot!. Mostly, my Welsh is from the south, where we use ‘Gallu’ instead of medru, so no confusion arises!
@gruntius can you help with this at all?

3 Likes

As far as I know we use “dwi’n medru …” for I can or I am able and “dwi ddim yn medru …” for I can’t or I am not able. “dwi’n methu …” is another way to say I can’t.

I hope this helps. As you go through the lessons the meanings will become more and more clear to you.

2 Likes

Well, actually you have a choice. Course 1 (and 2 and 3), are the original SSIW course, and if you are using your smartphone (ffon clefar), it tends to default to course 1.
However, Level 1 and 2 are more recent and based on years of feedback from Course 1 & 2. So ,things are learnt in a different order and the consensus is that the Levels are indeed better (though I did the courses first) and recommended.
The levels are no more advanced, but contain more material, I think the three old courses are combined in the 2 levels (We are eagerly awaiting Level 3). Also the sound quality is much better on the Levels.

Dw i’n medru = I am able,
Dw i ddim yn medru = i am not able

Or as you may learn on Level 1 challenge 1:
Fedra i = I am able

Pob lwc

1 Like