Liverpool Learners' Group

A new group for learners is to be launched on Monday 11th January at 7:30 pm in the Liverpool Welsh Centre near Penny Lane. Thereafter, we plan to meet in the centre at the same time every Monday evening. All are welcome, from complete beginners to experienced learners. The idea is to help each other with learning materials, advice, and Welsh conversation practice. Needless to say, I will be recommending SSiW to anyone and everyone.

You can find the address and email contact details on the Liverpool Welsh web site at:

http://www.liverpool-welsh.co.uk/learn.htm

If you live on Merseyside then come and join in!

3 Likes

Fantastic news - Manchester has been ahead of the game for too long - it’s high time for the capital of the north of Wales to get in on the act…:wink:

I really hope that we can find enough people to make the group viable. A group of us have done this with Swedish at our local Scandinavian centre (between 10 and 20 people turn up every Thursday evening nowadays) so it should be possible with Welsh too. There are loads of us here in Liverpool who are descended from families that decided many years ago not to speak Welsh to their children. I’m sure that those in our city who have Welsh roots heavily outnumber those who have Swedish roots!

Thanks very much for your encouragement.

2 Likes

I’m absolutely certain that it will be possible, and we’ll do everything we can to help - @Deborah-SSi flagging it up in the next few emails as a starter, even if it’s been mentioned already? :sunny:

That’s great, thanks. It won’t have been mentioned in an email yet.

Incidentally, I’ve posted an invitation for the Mancunians to visit us if any of them lives near enough. Their group only meets monthly, whereas we will be meeting every week.

1 Like