Listening + transcription practice...and mistakes!

A few months ago I had heard a few polyglots suggestion of transcribing podcasts, or any audio, to practice listening and writing.
It sounded interesting, but at the time I wanted to focus on speaking, so I didn’t really do much.

Now I’d like to give it one more try. My first attempt was with actually a TV show that I’ve been watching from time to time basically since I started learning Welsh, also to measure my progress :smiley: “Parti Bwyd Beca”.

The episode I had started with is not currently on S4C Clic, but there are still 2 available for a few more days. The intro is always the same, so I thought I’d share what I understood, if someone would like to check it out and find what I got wrong or what I missed. It’s also a test, in case we want to try it on Journaly as well in the future, but for now… a little bit at a time!!
https://www.s4c.cymru/clic/programme/539490643

Transcription as I hear it:

Beca dw i, a (d)wi’n ol ar yr heul a’n barod am barti.

(D)wi’n moyn rhannu’n receitau ‘da chi, beth i di teithio’r wlad yn cynnan a sweitsiau (whhaaat?) pop-up. O Syr Fon i Syr Gaerfyrddyn, byddai’n cwrdd a phobol fel fi sy’n ddwli a’r fwyd.

Bydd ambell wyneb cyfaeroed, ac ambell i’n newydd.Felly os chi’n llwgu, chi di dod y lle iawn.

That was really good. I’ve made a few small changes but welcome anyone with sharper ears who might like to make any more adjustments.

Beca dw i, a wi’n ôl ar yr heol a’n barod am barti.

(D)wi’n moyn rhannu ryseitiau ‘da chi, felly dw i’n teithio’r wlad yn cynnal nosweithiau pop-up [pop-up evenings]. O Sir Fôn i Sir Gaerfyrddyn, byddai’n cwrdd a phobol fel fi sy’n ddwli a’r fwyd.

Bydd ambell wyneb cyfarwydd, ac ambell un newydd. Felly os chi’n llwglyd, chi di dod i’r lle iawn.

1 Like

I’ve also had a go at this once or twice, but I used the Pigion podcast. If you wanted to and had a program like Audacity, you could even slow the speech down a little.

2 Likes

Oh right, diolch!