Is this method working for you?

I hesitated before deciding to post this.

Aside from the fact that most people who don’t feel they benefit from this system won’t have stayed around to be on this forum, I also don’t want to be a party pooper. But, even though I’ve been learning Welsh for over a year, I haven’t even been able to get through even the first exercise - even the thought of going back to it leaves me in a cold sweat. It’s not that I fear mistakes or whatever else Aran Jones mentioned as obstacles to learning in his videos - Welsh is the fifth language I’ve learned so I’m not a novice to language learning. I also know that I don’t learn languages like others do - I try to ignore grammar as much as possible in the early stages, for example. But the whole thing seems to be a race - everything gabbled at double time so that there is not even time to assimilate the English before the Welsh is spoken, and even less time to repeat the Welsh before it is repeated in the exercise. And no time to assimilate what we are hearing and learning at all. I know this is how fast some people speak on a day-to-day basis, but I don’t think this speed in the first exercise is at all helpful. I know I could sit on the pause button, but at that rate I’d have RSI before I was 10 minutes in.

It just makes me nervous, which I don’t have if I’m allowed a chance to think about things. I like learning languages like a child does, but parents don’t throw phrases in these loads at these speeds at children.

I’m really wondering if people are succeeding with this method. I note that Aran Jones mentioned in video 4 about how he learned the Dutch varkensvlees using his method and “has never got it wrong since”. Except in that video. Badly. Not a good advert for the method.

Does anybody have any helpful input? It’s great if this works for others. If everybody else is happy, that’s fine - I’ll pop off and learn my way, and leave you to it. Horses for courses. But I was wondering …

Graham