In the forum after far too long

I should have been here a long time ago, because I’ve been learning Welsh for nearly 3 years now, but my job kept me busy enough that I … just never made it on. But these days I have a new job, and though it keeps me plenty busy, I’ve mostly kept it down to 40 hours a week, and doing so has been lovely for my Welsh.

Anyway, hi! I’ve been using a combo of SSiW and Duolingo (there were times when I just couldn’t manage the intense concentration of SSiW, and Duolingo was a life-saver at those points), but also reading Lingo Newydd, and the easy books from Y Lolfa. Really, though, one of the unusual backbones of my learning has been listening to Radio Cymru for about 2 hours almost every morning and every night – so, a lot of Bore Cothi and Y Shifft Hwyr gyda Geraint Lloyd. Radio is not a magic/easy way to learn, by any means, but I got really fond of listening, in part because I discovered that I like Welsh folk/pop; and because I could do little bits of reading practice by seeing if I could understand the short descriptions for the programs, or put them together by looking up some of the words in the dictionary. And over time, it’s really helped – I can’t understand every puzzle on the Late Shift, but I can understand some of them well enough to solve them relatively early in the show. And though the radio broadcasters speak slowly, both shows have regular call-in guests who speak quite fast, and are from different regions, so I’ve gotten more used to a mix of North and South pronunciations.