Hi to all

I just wanted to introduce myself and say hi to all. I started learning Spanish about a year ago. At the the end of the this week I am of to Spain for 2 weeks. At the beginning of this week, after a year learning and with the holiday looming I realised I could not speak Spanish. Why? Because i spent to much time flipping from one course to another. I did a bit of this and a bit of that, but not much of anything. I did consistently stick with Duolingo which is good for vocab, and Memrise, again good for vocab. Ok not to beat myself up to much, I do listen to a lot, which although I probably get 15 to 20% of it, it no longer sounds like a machine gun of words. 3 or 4 days ago I stumbled across SSi, I read it, thought about it, cant do any harm, I will give it ago. Wo!! This is good, how did i not see this before!!. I know its been said before but it is… well…riveting! I’ve realised that I’ve been passively learning, not engaging. And its not that i have not been putting the time in. I’ve been spending a couple of hours a day on Spanish.
Anyway so this doesn’t turn in to therapy for me I’ve decided to cram as much in as possible. Luckily for me the rest of my family are in London until tomorrow evening. So I’m about to start challenge 9, having done 2 this morning. I’m going to push for challenge 15 today. Then I will push to complete level one buy 10 pm tomorrow This sounds wrong to do but when I’m doing the challenges its feels in way a bit like when I used to play games on the Xbox. you’ve just got to get to the nest level!. Of to do challenge 9
Robert

2 Likes

¡Bienvenido al foro, Rob!