GCSE Welsh

I’ve been studying Welsh for just a few months but I’ve decided to start studying for the Welsh GCSE exam as it’s good to have a set goal in mind when you’re starting out in a new language. I don’t have time to go to lessons so I’ll be teaching myself with whatever resources come to hand and I’ll pay to sit the exam as an external student.
I’d love to hear from anyone who is interested in sitting the exam too.

4 Likes

Shwmae Steve!
Just wondering, since you’re looking to take a GCSE exam, if you’re in possession of the GCSE syllabus or are you using a textbook to help you learn this?
I haven’t really looked for any kind of textbook for the GCSE qualification before so don’t really know what is out there or how good the material is. Will the GCSE you’ll be taking for 2nd language?? Let us know how how you get on with the preparations for the exam and the exam itself when you take it.
Hwyl

1 Like

Hi Steve. I can’t advise you on Welsh GCSE’s but most adult Welsh learners in Wales (I don’t know where you live) do exams specially for them run by WJEC (Welsh Joint Education Committee?), namely Mynediad, Sylfaen, Canolradd, Uwch if they do exams at all. Only school students seem to do the GCSE’s. Past papers are available on the WJEC website and I’m sure they publish a syllabus as well.

I’m told that Canolradd is equivalent to GCSE and the Uwch exam is equivalent to an A level. Once at Canolradd level you need to submit a 5 minute tape of you speaking with a fluent Welsh speaker beforehand. There is a LOT of work to be done beforehand for the UWCH exam which is marked in it’s own right but is also the starting point for discussion in the oral.