Feeling I'm lagging behind

I am on challenge 22 level 1. I find I’m doing stupid mistakes, like leaving isio, or angen out of the sentences, etc. I have been shielding for 6 months lasy year, and now again till march. I’m not sure if it’s that affecting me, as I can’t practice my Welsh with local people, due to shielding, (many do not speak it here anyway), or if it happens anyway in the process. I have a zoom meeting once a week with another learner, that helps, and I’ve been on the Wednesday Q&A, and the speaking practice after, but I’ve lost my confidence to go to the speaking practice only. Anyone else experienced this? I’d be grateful for some advice, as although I look confidant, I’m not.

3 Likes

Don’t be hard on yourself Irena - things like that are just bumps in the road, and although they can be discouraging, they don’t have to end the journey. The fact you are still talking with another learner is great, and a sign that you can still do it, even if your brain is telling you you are lacking in confidence! I’m afraid the only way to build confidence is to jump in and keep doing the thing you think you haven’t got the confidence to do. Mistakes are good learning tools - especially when you can recognise them, so don’t be worried or embarrassed about making them with others.
I’ll be honest with you - I speak Welsh as a second language now, but even so I come across situations that I don’t feel confident in even if I might look like I am, but avoiding those situations (whilst sometimes being impossible to avoid anyway) would, I know, do me more harm than good.
Look at how far you’ve come since challenge 1 - the path might get steeper here on in, but the view is worth it! Dal ati!

3 Likes

Diolch yn fawr Siaron, for taking the time to reply, and with such encouraging words, I really appreciate it. I will try my best to go to the speaking practices. Your encouragement and kindness has helped me a lot, so thank you so much.

2 Likes