Feeling depressed

Hello , one and all. Just like to say, I have been studying SSiW for …on and off…some time. The more I felt Id’e learnt the more I wanted to learn, ( I’m NOT someone to give in easily, I love learning languages. I learnt Swedish…the hard way… by moving to Sweden and started working with people who didn’t speak a word of English. I now speak it fluent.) ( I even speak a little Indonesian, I live here now ) so I carried on and have reached Lesson number 25. After going over the lessons several times, backtracking etc etc I thought I had a fair knowledge of the Lessons. Today I listened to Lesson 25. It felt as if I was a new beginner. It was as if Id’e never learnt the other 24 lessons. I couldn’t remember anything. Having said this, I shall carry on, Iv’e come this far and cannot, will not, give in now.This last week Iv’e spent 3-4 hrs a day studying, maybe it’s too much?

1 Like

Shwmae Thomas, croeso i’r fwrwm if you haven’t posted here before!

You should know that what you’ve done is a massive achievement, and you should be very proud of that. That said, perhaps you’ve burnt yourself out - 4 hours a day is a lot. A short rest might do you wonders. But seriously, your dedication is something to be admired - I don’t think I’ve spoken to anyone who routinely does 4 hours a day! Da iawn ti and dal ati! :smile:

2 Likes

Lesson 25 is brutal. It’s more random than the other lessons. It seems like it should be easy but it isn’t. Don’t let it get to you. Just keep at it (dal ati), it will get easier.

2 Likes

Hello @thomasmalcolm and huge WELCOME TO THE FORUM first.