Favourite Welsh poems to learn

A while ago I started learning poems by heart as a way of really being able to appreciate them. Mostly the classics that you’d expect: I met a traveller from an antique shop land…, Shall I compare thee… and so on. I’d only learn two or three lines a day, but that soon builds up over time and I really enjoyed it, though for some reason I stopped doing it after a while.

I thought it would be fun to start again though, this time with Welsh poems.

Can anyone recommend any good poems for this? What are the ‘classic’ Welsh poems that kids would have been made to learn decades ago?

Short ones are preferable, of course :grinning:! I’m not looking for ‘learner’ poems (unless they’re a classic in their own right), so there’s no problem if the language is ‘difficult’. I’m just interested in the ones that people who are interested in literature would expect to know. Or it could just be a poem that you love, whether it’s a classic or not.

Does anything spring to mind as good for this purpose?

Many thanks!

2 Likes

Although I must admit I do not know them by heart, these classics spring to mind for me -
Colli Iaith - Harri Webb
Aberdaron - Cynan (Albert Evans-Jones)
Rhyfel - Hedd Wyn

3 Likes

Thanks @siaronjames! I shall have a look at them and see how I get on…

Thanks again.

1 Like

Atgo’ gan Hedd Wynn

4 Likes

Rhyfel gan Hedd Wynn, you can find poem with lyrics on YouTube

2 Likes

These are the ones I remember from my school years in the 70s and 80s…

Cwm Pennant by Eifion Wyn

Hon T. H Parry Williams

Eifionydd
by R Williams Parry

Aberdaron by Cynan

1 Like

I read and listened to @siaronjames’s suggestions last night – I enjoyed them all, thanks! Three very different styles of course… I think I’ll try learning the Hedd Wyn first, but they all look good to go on the list.

I’ll also have a look at @CatrinLliarJones’s suggestions, so there’s plenty to be getting on with…

Thanks for your recommendations!

2 Likes