Discouraged by evening class

Hi there peoples. Just looking for a bit of love/support if possible? I have been slowly doing SSiW but finding it a bit strange not having any grammar explanations at all, as am a grammarian. I decided to enroll on an evening class for total beginners, thinking that well, couldn’t go wrong there. Unfortunately the evening class has totally discouraged me. The tutor seemed arrogant and kept making jokes and references to things I didn’t understand (in English that is) which everyone else got but me. She was speeding ahead and again, everyone but me seemed to be following it very well, whereas I got totally mixed up, again because there was not any explanation of what the words actually meant, and how the sentences fit together, plus the others seemed to already understand a lot more Welsh than me… complete beginners? She showed us a bizarre video all about mutations that wouldn’t have made sense probably to most Welsh speakers let alone Englsih total beginners Anyway, apologies for being negative, I’m just really sad that I’ve had this experience as though I thought I was doing ok, saying my phone number for example when I’ve only just learned the numbers I was getting no encouragement and the whole attitude has rather put me off learning Welsh at all… I need a big cwtch please to get me back on track if I may? I really want to persevere with SSiW but now I feel like a thick dunce compared to others.

7 Likes

Oh dear. All classes have people who learn at different speeds. I am sure that you will find a place here, right @aran :smile:

2 Likes

What a shame @Frances
Can I ask how far you have progressed with SSiW? My recommendation to you is to persevere with the SSW material - and if your addiction to grammar becomes too much, get hold of a few books on Welsh grammar. We have a member on the forum who has published a few…