Compulsory Welsh in schools

I believe Welsh was made compulsory up to the age of 16 in late 1999, whereas before it was compulsory up to the age of 14. A couple of questions on this as I’m no expert on Welsh teaching. 1, It obviously varies a bit with each individual but what sort of standard could someone have achieved by the end of their schooling? Fluency? 2, Does this mean that the future of the language is actually quite promising given that in the long term most young people in Wales will have a decent understanding of the language?

1 Like

Could - with some pretty dramatic changes to the existing approach - could definitely be fluency. As things stand, though, it’s a very different matter. An A* student will probably have at least some conversational Welsh (although usually pretty low levels of confidence in actually using it) - below that grade, I’d expect a very sharp fall.

This will only be the case once most children are in Welsh medium education (which produces genuine bilinguals). Welsh education in English medium is likely to continue to fail as a project, sadly.

3 Likes

Aspirational…

Not so much…

1 Like

Indeed. I was 16 in 1998, as such my school year was that the last school year that didn’t do Welsh at GCSE as a compulsory thing. Even though 1999 is the given date, it actually started taking affect earlier - i.e whilst I was in Year 11 in Summer 1998, our Year 10 equivalents had already been going GCSE Welsh from Autumn 1997 onwards.

My wife being a couple of years younger than me, completed GCSE Welsh and passed with a C. She went to an English medium school in Swansea. Her oral exam was very much sort of “Here’s what you need to say, please memorise it for the exam” sort of thing. Within a couple of years she had forgotten everything, and when we both started SSIW a few years back, we were at exactly the same level (i.e near nothing) despite the extra 2 years she had on me.