Caergrawnt Meetups?

Anything going on here? Would be interested but am total beginner!

I would be interested! We’re in South Cambs. I got most of the way thru level 3 of SSIW, then defected to the London Welsh Centre, which is between work & Kings X, & do lessons on a Mon. However, they’re not very good - SSIW is much better - so I’m looking to try something else as well, so a meetup would be fab. Once a month would suit me as I’m also doing a doctorate (not in Welsh!)

Hi there Tracey,

We are in Ware, Herts., which is not so far away from you. (I live in Bishop’s Stortford - even nearer.) We have a group in the Ware U3A, which meets on Tuesday afternoons. We are mixed ability - there are 2 mother-tongue speakers (one from Denbigh in the north, and one from Carmarthenshire in the south) and someone whose mother tongue is English but went to Welsh speaking school in Snowdonia until the age of 11. The other 3 of us are learners of varying ability. After our study period (video-based), we go to a pub and have a rule that we can only speak Welsh for the first 15 mins. The study group is full due to space limitations, but you could certainly attend the pub meeting, if you can make it in the daytime. BTW, I also went to the London Welsh Centre for a year - the tuition was quite good and there was the Cylch Siarad Cymraeg right after the lesson, but that depended on who attended, as often only English was spoken. Being retired, and for other reasons, it became a bit difficult to attend. I can recommend the 1-week residential courses at the Uni of Wales, Lampeter - I’ve done 2 of them. I know someone who went to Nant Gwrtheyrn and recommends it. I don’t often look at this site and do not know if your reply would be automatically mailed to me, so you can mail me on parkin.barry@gmail.com.

Shwmae,

Mae fy mab yn byw yn Waterbeach ger Caergrawnt ac mae e’n dysgu Cymraeg (Sylfaen 1)
My son lives in Waterbeach near Cambridge and he’s learning Welsh (Sylfaen 1)