Byddwn, byddet, byddai, etc and baswn, baset, basai

I know that this has been discussed in the Forum before, but I could do with some input from others. I have been learning Welsh for many years, and I am fluent,. I have had all my welsh learning experience in the north. I learnt byddwn, byddet, byddai etc from the beginning of my Welsh learning experience, and although I am aware of baswn, etc. in the north I have always used byddwn (baswn) etc without any problems. I attend the Gloywi course (Dysgu Cymraeg) and have so for the last two years. In the class just before the Mayday bank holiday, my tutor took me to task about my using byddwn, etc. and said that this this form of formal or literary Welsh. Her expectation is that I mend the errors of my ways and use baswn forms. There are two ladies in my class who like me learnt byddwn forms in school in the old Denbighshire and also in north Wales Welsh languages classes. The tutor did not include these ladies in her rebuke. My question is whether byddwn, byddet, are spoken in other parts of Wales? S4C’s programmes would say yes, but I am now uncertain whether I am using formal forms of the language and so come over as speaking unnaturally and stilted. According to the Gloywi (Hyfedredd) curriculum learners should be able to understand other Welsh dialects besides their own, and ought still to use their local dialect. Is there a Holywell Welsh dialect, if so where do I find and hear it. Scouse is the local accent and Lingo here.

1 Like

I’m sorry, but that’s ridiculous and that tutor should be ashamed! Those forms are used in casual, everyday speech in various different parts of Wales. They are pretty much all I heard in Ceredigion when I lived there!

5 Likes

Diolch yn fawr iawn. This really helpful and has restored my confidence.